Virgo, Up Close and Personal

VirgoWe don’t really want you make the beds because we can do it better.  Not better from an ego standpoint at all, but from a meticulous place.  Not only is it neater but it may have certain pillow placements, the critically correct blanket direction and maybe even an equal amount of sheet on each side.  It’s more an obsessive nature that we are up against on a daily basis.

It’s exhausting being a Virgo.  We get to as much as any one person can in a day and then some.  We are super committed at work because our standards are high and we expect excellence.  Know this though, the excellence that we are expecting of everyone else, we are expecting even more of ourselves, yikes!  

Most of us do have a “shutdown” mode, that is a necessity.  I can work for hours and hours and then I need to “shut down” every so often.  I check Facebook, my blog, text a friend or two or just spend mindless time maybe playing solitaire on my phone, just to get through the rest of my mentally obsessed day.  

Movies are my thing.  It’s the time and place I truly shut it all off for a couple of hours.  That’s why I love action movies, they really hold my attention, they drown out the mental chatter that is sometimes loud and argumentative or especially critical. A chatter that is incessant in most Virgo’s minds.

It’s hard for us to take criticism, possibly even more so than the average person,  we are like walking pressure cookers, with our high expectations. Criticism, even in its most constructive form is painful to us.  People see Virgo’s as “wanting” to be perfect, quite the contrary, most of us would love to ease up on ourselves and others.  “Just let it go”, so easy to say and yet to a Virgo, it is possible but only with concentrated effort to “let it go”, which defeats the purpose.

Virgo “looks” different on men and women, in my opinion.  I believe men and women “display” all signs differently.  In my experience Virgo men can tolerate a mess far beyond what the Virgo women can.  They can walk past and ignore the spot on the counter, the clothes on the floor or stacks of paper on the desk.  It’s not likely you’ll find stacks of paper on a Virgo women’s desk unless, they are neat stacks, organized by some chronological, alphabetical or (believe it or not) possibly color coded system. To the heavily influenced Virgo individual you may find even their closest color coded.  (I am slightly guilty of this.)

Now that we’ve picked apart all the, let’s call them “challenging” qualities of a Virgo,  we can  shine some light on those awesome parts!  You can tell us about the twenty things you have to get to in a day and our mind instantly categorizes, prioritizes and for some of us even geographically maps out the day in our minds.  This makes us excellent at creating the most productive days.

We were born to serve, so to speak; how can we help you?  Some Virgo’s may not know it, but one of our main purposes is “to serve”.  What that means is if anyone needs help, feels down or just wants to vent, we are typically the one you’ll go to.  We are awesome listeners, we nurture, we have an “on-hand” list of self-development tools at all times or immediate advice that most of the time is very useful.  It truly is, for the most part, extremely satisfying to us to be of use.

All that “I’m here for you” energy does become exhausting, we sometimes don’t know our own limits and will overdo it.  This leaves us feeling drained, empty and then-resentful. So to my fellow Virgos, tap into your positive trait of discernment and use it on yourselves.  Check in with yourselves often to see if you’re overextended and then check out for a bit.  The more fully you recharge yourselves, the sooner you can get back to helping others.  Remember, that’s what we’re about  😉

So, summing things up; are we obsessed, yes we are, are we critical, yes we are, do we strive for (and expect) excellence, yes we do! But, we are in your corner, we are here for you, we are some of the best and loyal people you’ll ever find.  We can play, nurture, advise, organize and prioritize like you’ve never imagined, and at the end of the day, when it would mean so much to us that you acknowledge all our efforts, please do so.  That gratification that we get from your appreciation only enhances our desire to be our best, for ourselves and for you!

 

What sign would you like to get a deeper look into?

 

 

11 thoughts on “Virgo, Up Close and Personal

  1. Robin January 27, 2016 / 6:14 pm

    Very insightful explains a lot about my Virgo friends 🙂
    How about Leo??

    Like

  2. Gabriella January 28, 2016 / 8:18 pm

    I love this! What a great post. I’m especially guilty of taking control of making the bed and the color-coded closet 😉

    Like

    • Kimberly Brochu January 28, 2016 / 11:38 pm

      Thanks and hey, a little organization doesn’t hurt anyone right, haha

      Like

  3. Beth Iaciofano January 29, 2016 / 8:48 pm

    This is my husband to a “T.” It’s funny to read this because I feel like you’re talking about him :). How about Capricorns, Kim??

    Like

    • Kimberly Brochu January 29, 2016 / 8:59 pm

      Love the feedback Beth and the request! I’ll get on it 😉

      Like

  4. ideaphilosopher January 30, 2016 / 9:50 pm

    I would love to hear one on Cancer and one on Taurus. I will gladly repost those on my blog too! To my whole handful of followers 😉 I am still a mere Padawan 😌

    Like

    • Kimberly Brochu January 31, 2016 / 3:16 am

      Thank you ideaphilosopher for the requests and offer to repost! I will surely be posting one for each of the Sun signs. I look forward to checking out your blog 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Julia January 31, 2016 / 2:46 am

    I thought about my precious mom the whole time I was reading this. She is Virgo. She is very organized, clean, and neat. She’s also very loving! She does and does for others!!
    She is also very tentative at listening! She never meets a stranger, she is kind to everyone! I appreciate her so much!!! Thanks for sharing about virgos!

    Like

    • Kimberly Brochu January 31, 2016 / 2:59 am

      You’re welcome Julie, so happy you enjoyed and related to my piece. Being a Virgo myself, this was a natural sign to start with, but it seems people are enjoying it so I will be sure to get the next one up soon. xo Kim
      I’m sure I’d love you mother too ; )

      Like

Leave a Reply

